Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this document, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this document.



## 中國建設銀行股份有限公司

## China Construction Bank Corporation

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 939)

## Announcement on Increase in Shareholding by Controlling Shareholder of China Construction Bank Corporation

This announcement is published pursuant to rule 13.09(2) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.

On 9 October 2009, China Construction Bank Corporation (the "*Bank*") received a notice from Central Huijin Investment Limited ("*Huijin*"), its controlling shareholder, that Huijin has recently increased its shareholding of the Bank by 16,139,217 A-shares through the trading system of the Shanghai Stock Exchange ("*this share acquisition*").

Immediately prior to this share acquisition, Huijin held 133,390,752,772 shares of the Bank (comprising 128,608,238 A-shares and 133,262,144,534 H-shares), representing approximately 57.08% of the total issued share capital of the Bank. Immediately following this share acquisition, Huijin holds 133,406,891,989 shares of the Bank (comprising 144,747,455 A-shares and 133,262,144,534 H-shares), representing approximately 57.09% of the total issued share capital of the Bank.

Huijin intends to continue to increase, in its own capacity, its shareholding in the Bank on the secondary market within 12 months commencing from the date of this share acquisition.

By order of the Board of Directors

China Construction Bank Corporation

Zhang Jianguo

Vice Chairman, Executive Director and President

## 11 October 2009

As at the date of this announcement, the executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Guo Shuqing, Mr. Zhang Jianguo, Ms. Xin Shusen and Mr. Chen Zuofu; the non-executive directors of the Bank are Mr. Wang Yonggang, Mr. Wang Yong, Ms. Wang Shumin, Mr. Liu Xianghui, Mr. Zhang Xiangdong, Ms. Li Xiaoling and Mr. Gregory L. Curl; and the independent non-executive directors of the Bank are Lord Peter Levene, Mr. Song Fengming, Ms. Jenny Shipley, Ms. Elaine La Roche, Mr. Wong Kai-Man and Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius.